Officer Brad Walter has been with the Waterloo Police Department
since August of 2002 after starting in Law Enforcement in 1995.
While serving with the Waterloo Police, he has been assigned to
Patrol most of that time, currently being assigned to Watch III.
He was assigned to the traffic unit and is on the motorcycle unit.
In 2007 he was trained as a Field Training Officer. He has been a
SFST Instructor since 2001. In 2008 Officer Walter attended the
DRE School and became very interested in the DRE program
becoming an Instructor in 2010. Officer Walter also is a Technical
Accident Investigator and Certified to download Crash Data
Recorders. He has been a past instructor in all aspects of Use
of Force. In 2013 and 2015 Officer Walter received an award for
Outstanding Performance for NE Iowa at the GTSB Conference.
In 2014 Officer Walter was the recipient of the Kip Hayward Award
at the GTSB Conference. Officer Walter also assists in instructing
at ILEA and Hawkeye Community College. In 2015 Officer Walter
became a member of the Iowa Drug Recognition Expert Advisory

Before coming to the Waterloo Police Department he was an
Officer with the City of Grundy Center where he did general patrol
duties and began his start in generalizing in traffic enforcement.
In 2001 he received an Outstanding Service Award for putting the
“Every 15 Minutes” program on in the high school, a program for
drunk driving with youth drivers. Officer Walter was also a
Reserve Officer in Evansdale, Iowa for four years before starting
his full time career where was Reserve Officer of the Year for 1997.

During his personal time, he is very active outdoors and spends
a majority of his fall and winter hunting and his summer golfing
or working on his acreage and coaching trap shooting.

Congratulations Officer Walter!




                     Officer Brad Walter                                                        



Since 1970 there have been 43 different officers honored as "Officer of the Year".  The remaining officers

are listed below:

Year Honored Officer Year Honored Officer
    2016 Jamie Sullivan
2015 Kyle Ullom 2014 Eryn Hageman
2013 Greg Erie 2012 Brice Lippert
2011 Randy Hammitt 2010 Spencer Gann
2009 Jeff Tyler 2008 Gregory Kemp
2007 Rob Camarata 2006 Dave Bovy
2005 Matt McGeough 2004 Rob Duncan
2003 Robert Michael 2002 Steve Bagenstos
2001 Chris Gergen 2000 Cliff Caughron
1999 Verl "Skip" Johnson 1998 Jeffrey Harrington
1997 Tina Lathrop 1996 Michael McNamee
1995 Randy Chapman 1994 Jimmie Schmidt
1993 Scott Pagel 1992 Carroll Keinol
1991 Larry Coffin 1990 Cheryl Rathe
1989 Carl Teske 1988 Scott Lake
1987 Becky Christie 1986 Duane Foutch
1985 Buck Clark 1984 Rick Harned
1983 Thomas Shimp 1982 John Woods
1981 Richard Boesen 1980 A. Lynn Moller
1979 Carroll Keinol 1978 Brian Corcoran
1977 Darwin Cunningham 1976 Richard Arends
1975 Larry Thompson 1974 Michael Wagner
1970 Larry Dolan