The Waterloo Police Department is Proud to Announce the Officer of the Year for 2020.

Chief Fitzgerald announced that Officer Adam Galbraith is the recipient of the 2020 Officer of the Year award. Officer Galbraith epitomizes the Departments mission and vision in his performance, attention to detail, positive attitude, and work habits. The Chief also noted that Officer Galbraith’s activity level, consistency and performance in regards to the completion of his duties was exemplary.  

Officer Galbraith started employment with the Water loo Police Department in 1996.  His previous assignments have included Watch III Patrol, Watch II Patrol, the Drug Crime Unit, the Property & Evidence Division, the Tri-County Drug Enforcement Criminal Enterprise Task Force, and the Investigative Division as a School Resource Officer and Investigator.  Officer Galbraith is currently assigned to the Watch I Patrol Division.

Officer Galbraith also serves as a Field Training Officer, Crisis Intervention Trained officer, and can be seen riding a Harley Davidson police motorcycle; weather permitting, as he is one of the officers assigned to the Police Motor Unit.  Officer Galbraith was also a former member of the Waterloo Police Department Tactical Unit.

The continued professionalism that Officer Galbraith demonstrates in the course of his service to the community and his willingness to help fellow officers were traits recognized by his peers, supervisors, and members of the administrative staff.

Congratulations Officer Galbraith!



Since 1970 there have been 44 different officers honored as "Officer of the Year".  The remaining officers

are listed below:

Year Honored Officer Year Honored Officer
2019 Jordan Ehlers 2018 Brad Walter
2017 Ben Bloker  2016 Jamie Sullivan
2015 Kyle Ullom 2014 Eryn Hageman
2013 Greg Erie 2012 Brice Lippert
2011 Randy Hammitt 2010 Spencer Gann
2009 Jeff Tyler 2008 Gregory Kemp
2007 Rob Camarata 2006 Dave Bovy
2005 Matt McGeough 2004 Rob Duncan
2003 Robert Michael 2002 Steve Bagenstos
2001 Chris Gergen 2000 Cliff Caughron
1999 Verl "Skip" Johnson 1998 Jeffrey Harrington
1997 Tina Lathrop 1996 Michael McNamee
1995 Randy Chapman 1994 Jimmie Schmidt
1993 Scott Pagel 1992 Carroll Keinol
1991 Larry Coffin 1990 Cheryl Rathe
1989 Carl Teske 1988 Scott Lake
1987 Becky Christie 1986 Duane Foutch
1985 Buck Clark 1984 Rick Harned
1983 Thomas Shimp 1982 John Woods
1981 Richard Boesen 1980 A. Lynn Moller
1979 Carroll Keinol 1978 Brian Corcoran
1977 Darwin Cunningham 1976 Richard Arends
1975 Larry Thompson 1974 Michael Wagner
1970 Larry Dolan